Oral History Collection

MAIN ENTRY: Ayers, Cecil L.
DATE OF INTERVIEW: February 10, 1975
INTERVIEWER: Marshall L. Pennington
LENGTH OF INTERVIEW: 2 hours, 30 minutes
SCOPE AND CONTENT NOTE: Mr. Cecil Ayers, agronomy professor at Texas Tech since 1942, discusses his work with the crop judging teams at Texas Tech University from 1947 to 1971.
Autobiographical data presented
     Changed name
     Education summarized
Attended college at Texas Tech
Early years of Texas Tech recalled
Coldest day in Lubbock recalled
Brother and sister mentioned
Played football in high school
Taught vocational agriculture at Tahoka and Spur after graduation from Tech
Activity on Tech crop judging teams
Dr. and Mrs. Clifford B. Jones described
Sons and occupations discussed
TAPE ONE, SIDE TWO: After leaving Spur, returned to Tech and got Master's degree
Work in crop judging
     History of team
Dean Arthur H. Leidigh recalled
Crop judging teams discussed further
     Won first contest after World War II
     Won first place in every contest from 1952-1956
Overall view of contest activities
Reasons for success at the contests
Explanation of mechanics of crop judging contest
Contends that self-discipline and proficiency are important
Continued explanation of various phases of a crop judging
Philosophy on perpetuating a winning team
TAPE TWO, SIDE ONE: Continued discussion of crop judging teams at Texas Tech
     Reason for losing one contest
     Training crop judging teams
          Tried to never have a superior attitude toward students
     Financing trips to contests in Chicago and Kansas City
     End of crop judging program
          Result of change in administration
     Competition listed
Other courses taught
Seventh grade teacher remembered
     Favorite teachers mentioned
Publication of book about eradication of Johnson grass
     Story of Johnson grass in the United States
TAPE TWO, SIDE TWO: Honors and awards received
     Honorary State Farmer award for work with Future  
          Farmers of America in Texas and New Mexico
     Piper Professorship received in 1962
          Other Tech professors who have received Piper
          Professorship--Dr. R. S. Underwood, Dr. Mina Lamb,
          Dr. Ernest Wallace
Recognition of Dr. Clifford B. Jones and Lubbock National
     Bank resulted in half-page picture in Lubbock Avalanche
Hopes that Texas Tech crop judging team will be re-organized
     after his retirement
Discussion of future donation of records of team and activities
RANGE DATES: 1947-1971
BULK DATES: 1947-1971